Almost Completed NaNoWriMo and a Couple Other Updates

First things first:

No, I did not manage to write 50,000 words in November, I only did 48,005.  So close, I know, but not quite close enough.  I’m not disappointed though.  I’ve got the start of what might (with lots of editing) someday turn into, hopefully, a halfway decent novel.  But more importantly, I’m on my way to developing a habit for writing.  While I didn’t make my final word count, I did make most (but obviously not quite all) my daily goals.  During NaNoWriMo I learned to write even when I wasn’t really ‘feeling’ it and I learned to accept a first draft is just that, a draft, it doesn’t need to be perfect, that’s what editing is for.  I plan to keep those lessons in mind as I continue the novel I started (I will finish my novel.. I will finish my novel..) and also work on other writing projects.

Now on to a couple other things:

I’ve had a couple more stories published.  The first is Solo, published on Perihelion Science Fiction’s Shorter Stories page.  The second story, Live from the Past, is in the first issue of Lakeside Circus, a new quarterly from Dagan Books.

And one last bit of news:

I just found out more story The Traditional Taste, published earlier this month, came in second place in Fiction Vortex’s November fiction contest.  They had some really nice things to say about my odd Robot drinks Coffee story over on their blog.

Well, that’s it for now.  Back to writing.

About Jon Arthur Kitson

I'm a writer and reader of short stories.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

