A Husband’s Hobby

So this post is a little late in coming, my story A Husband’s Hobby came out in the first volume of Geek Force Five at the beginning of the month.  Yeah.

A Husband’s Hobby is a story I actually wrote quite awhile ago mostly to get out of a slump and then sat on my hard drive for months.  When I found Geek Force Five’s call for submissions on Submission Grinder I thought it might fit right in.  Apparently the editors thought so too.

Letting the story sit turned out to be a good thing.  After so many months of it being out of my head I was able to look at it with new eyes and make some improvements that turned out to work.  The biggest difference between the final draft and the version that sat on my computer is the ending.  I have a tendency to not start a short story until I know exactly where it’s going to go.  Sometimes that seems to work, but lately I’m discovering I might be a little to dedicated to an ending that doesn’t provide the best impact.  Definitely something I’m going to keep in mind from now on.. and just maybe it will help me get more acceptance letters.

For anyone interested in checking out A Husband’s Hobby and the other great stories in Geek Force Five, there’s a link to Volume One on the Story Links page.

 

 

About Jon Arthur Kitson

I'm a writer and reader of short stories.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

